The Perth & District Chamber of Commerce Annual Business Excellence Awards Gala recognizes and celebrates companies who have distinguished themselves by fostering growth, innovation, community service and excellence in their sectors. The winners are chosen by the Executive who evaluate nominations received from the community. This year the Chamber has FIVE (5) Award Categories.

NOMINATION TIMELINE: September 1 to September 22, 2023
Website Nomination Form that lists the AWARDS and asks nominees to nominate a candidate based on the following criteria.

Awards Nomination Deadline: Friday, September 22nd at 5pm.

Awards Categories

Business of the Year

Perth & District boasts a number of area businesses and industries with some of them enjoying global recognition and respect for excellence in both products and services. Typically employing 20 people or more, these firms play a leading role in solidly positioning themselves in today’s marketplace.

These firms provide employment, stability and enhanced quality of life for many Perth & District area residents. This category is described, in general terms, as a firm that has been in operation for a minimum of three years. Criteria include but are not limited to:

  • Must be a for-profit business
  • Significant increase in revenue
  • Addition of new technology
  • Progressive human resource policies
  • New or expanded facilities
  • Environmental commitment
  • Increased workforce
  • Demonstrated training culture
  • Innovative marketing strategy or, new market development
  • Community involvement

Past Winners: Hinton Auto Group, Maximilian’s Restaurant, Perth Brewing Co., Brownlee Metro
Sponsored by:

Entrepreneur of the Year

Without imagination and a willingness to take risks, many innovative products and services in today’s marketplace would not exist. The entrepreneur takes a vision and turns it into a profitable reality. This award recognizes someone from the community who exemplifies these qualities.

General criteria centre on an enterprise no more than three years old or, one that has undergone a significant shift in focus within that period of time. Specific criteria include but are not limited to:

  • Must be a for-profit business
  • Demonstrated leadership, daring and creativity
  • Steady revenue growth
  • An innovative idea
  • Demonstrated personal and financial commitment
  • Unique marketing concept
  • Community involvement

Past Winners: The Perth Cheese Shop, Omnes Art Circle, Perth Chocolate Works, Top Shelf Distillers
Sponsored by:

The Employee/Team of the Year

The award recognizes an individual or team nominated by their peers who clearly demonstrates loyalty, exceptional performance and an overall contribution to their organization – the individual and/or team has provided a significant impact to their company through high-quality work, outstanding performance and is a well-respected role model to others.

Specific Criteria include but not limited to:

  • The award is open to both individuals and groups
  • Exceptional service to others
  • Personal or, company commitment with no expectation of reward
  • Enhancing the business image in the community
  • Positive public relations
  • Assisting others to succeed

Past Winners: The Beach House, Lake 88.1

Sponsored by:

The People’s Choice Award

This award will be presented to a business that is seen as a leader in the community, is highly engaged and active. This business (and their staff) is engaged in volunteering, community events, and understands the concept of giving back to the community. This business delivers a high level of customer service, is an innovator in their field and has demonstrated overall excellence in business. Voting will be open to the public in October.

Past Winners: Kelly’s Flowers & Gift Shop, Maximilian’s Restaurant

Sponsored by:

Breakthrough Award

This award will be presented to a business that has made a significant difference and investment in the community. This business will have also seen tremendous growth in their business and have demonstrated customer service excellence and a strong commitment to their employees.

Past Winner: Ireton Fendley Professional Corporation

Sponsored by: